Sunbonnet Sue.com (Free Patterns)

For all those Sunbonnet Sue quilt lovers (as in ME!), here is a great site.  It covers Sunbonnet Sue from the beginning when she was initially created as a small little drawing by Bertha Corbett Melcher and became widely known and distributed in illustrated children’s books. She later evolved into the quilt blocks in much the way todays loved children’s characters evolve into everything from quilts to pencil erasers. Interesting history…

Several free patterns for different Sunbonnet Sue blocks are here…  More vintage patterns are here..  I found this leftover fabric Baby SS quilt to be adorable.. pattern is here.

For the more funloving side of our natures, there is even a Bad SS page with photos of different interpretations of SS being a bad girl.. grin  SS reading Playgirl magazine or jumping into a pond that says “No Swimming”. 

The crocheted SS handkerchief pattern is real treasure find for me. Instructions are given in pdf. format for the SS and the edging for the hankie.  This little size of the almost Victorian lady would be great for embellishing almost anything…

Have a look…

43 thoughts on “Sunbonnet Sue.com (Free Patterns)

  1. I am looking for a pattern for a sun bonnet sue sitting down….its a very simple pattern. But I cannot find it anywhere.

  2. I am looking for the sunbonnet boy and girl indian applique it was round in the 50’s -60’s They are facing away with braids

  3. I am also looking for the pattern, I was told that it was included in a Sunbonnet Sue book, but have not been able to locate it. I wondered if you had any luck finding it. Sheila Wilson

  4. Joan Hauser, did you ever find that pattern. I’ve been hunting high and low and can’t find it anywhere. I didn’t know that it existed till I saw your notice. Please let me know.

  5. Look under..sitting sunbonnet Sue pattern and you will see a Miss Muffet that looks exactly like sunbonnet Sue.

  6. i am looking for a pattern with just sunbonnet sue’s head. i think there are about 30 different faces with bonnets.

  7. Did Joan and Barb ever find the sunbonnet indian boy and girl patterns? I am very interested and have been surfing and prowling magazine and book racks for quite some time. Please share.

  8. I am new at this – I’ve always loved Sunbonnet Sues. I am looking for embroidery patterns for the little chubby girl.Help!

  9. I am looking for a Sunbonet Sue pattern for a raffle quilt. We are doing themes for each month of the year. I signed up for Oct. and was hoping someone had a pattern for an Oct. halloween pattern or just a pattern with pumpkins and leaves etc. Do you have any ideas or has anyone given you ideas from your request?

  10. or regular sewing patterns for pheasant/ bustier type tops? i can alway make them a little longer- don’t care for belly showing even tho i’m rather small- too many scars from too many major operations…

  11. Pingback: annie s attic free dishcloth knitting pattern

  12. HI DOES ANYONE HAVE IDEAS WHAT I COULD USE FOR A NOVEMBER BLOCK OF SUNBONNET SUE??? I AM USING A PATTERN WHICH IS MONTH BY MONTH. PROBLEM IS IT SHOWS THANKSGIVING FOR NOV BUT WE IN BRITAIN DO NOT HAVE THAT. SO ANY IDEAS FOR WHAT I CAN USE WOULD BE GREAT

  13. I am looking for an old fashion Dutch girl and boy quilting pattern. Just plain ones – not fancy. Can anyone help me.

  14. I am looking for a pattern of a indian lady and her husban, it shows the back of them she has long braid of hair made out of yarn does any one have this?

  15. I am looking for a cross stitch pattern of Sunbonnet Sue. It is actually a ring of Sunbonnet Sues holding hands. It was from Sonbonnet Crafts magazine in the early 1990’s. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  16. I am looking for an intact book called Sun Bonnet Sue Through the year. I just want to make the quilt but can’t find the book anywhere for less than $50.00

  17. I AM LOOKING FOR A SUNBONNET SUE & SAM WITH A COWBOY HAT & BOOTS. PLEASE TELL ME WHERE I CAN FIND THE PATTERN. THANKS. DEBBIE ATCHLEY

  18. I am looking for a Sunbonnet Sue embroidery pattern for dish towels.
    For each day, it says something that she does on that day and, I
    think, it was on Tuesday, it says “on Tuesday, I just cry.”

  19. Does anyone know where I can find a crocheted pattern for Sun bonned Sue water her garden, I had one about 15 years ago.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

