Make Your Own Dress Form

In my younger days when I was much slimmer..grin… I had a slight pear shaped figure.  This meant I had to be careful about the sewing patterns I used or had to widen the hips a bit to make them fit.  Today… well, we just won't discuss it… grin  So when I found this page on the Taunton Press web site showing how to make your own dressmaker's form using duct tape (imagine that!) to fit your own body shape, I was overjoyed.. The dressform can be used for sewing, making your own patterns, or shaping and sizing crocheted sweaters, scarves etc..

Now… to find someone I trust to wrap all that duct tape around me… grin

Another site that may be quite useful and will give an even closer fit to your dress form is My Twin Dressforms. Here you can order kits, videos, etc to assist with making the form from papier mache'. How it is done is here.. Have a look…

10 thoughts on “Make Your Own Dress Form

  1. I have found an even better website where they tell you step by step on how to create your own twin dressform without having to purchase a booklet. They even teach you how to nicely dress it once finished. It’s great! I have followed the instrunctions step by step and I have a great dressform.

    http://sewnews.com/resources/library/0806form/index.html

    In case the page does not display just go to

    http://sewnews.com/sewsimple/ and type in the search area

    Sewing Stunt Double

  2. Did y0u ever make your double? I would love to chat with someone who has. I did mine with duct tape, ( I could not find the self adhesive paper tape anywhere!) and it conforms exactly to my shape, however it needs more body, and stuffing it has been a huge challenge, so I am about to start all over and make a new one.
    Problems I had:
    When stuffing a fuller backside, the amount needed to fill the butt to the proper protrusion managed to push the tummy out as well, distorting things.
    Same problem with the bust- the back area gets rounder and the chest is still not working!
    We tried using the expandable foam that comes in cans for filling in cracks in homes- weeks later it is still having little pop-throughs- it doesnt seem to want to solidify! AND it shrinks after a short while and now we have gaposis!
    Anyone who has successfully stuffed theri body double out there?

  3. did you have any luck with your body double. I would like to make one also, I’d like to know if you had any luck?

  4. I made a duct tape body double and set it on top of a tall stool to help me with my wedding dress. I had to make a vintage pattern quite a bit larger so it was great for helping to get the general parts done. I had to do the final fittings on myself of course withsomeone else doing the pinning because the double was pretty good but not perfect. I want to try the my twin next time. I think the plaster casting would be a more precise version of myself. The duct tape did tend to move a bit so you had to hope you had stuffed it alright.

  5. I’ve tried all the methods of making dress forms, and in my experience the easiest/most successful is the following: Buy a regular dress form at the fabric store–it will run you about $100 or so. Then go to Walmart and buy one of those spandex all-in-one undergarments and a bag of polyfill pillow stuffing. Set the dress form to a few inches smaller than your measurements, put the all-in-one on it and start stuffing. This way you can get not only your measurements but your exact shape–fullness of breasts, roundness of tummy and bottom, etc. You can even adjust waist length by stuffing the hip line a little higher or lower. If you can, do it in front of a full-length mirror with you in your bra & panties, so you can keep checking your silhouette against the form’s. This is easily changeable too if you lose or gain some weight–just remove or add some stuffing in the appropriate places.

  6. use the self adhesive stuff! Buy it at staples,ups stores, its the packing tape, its much more stiff than duct tape, and duct tape will gum up your pins. I stuffed mine with a pillow, and fiberfill.

    Though the purchasing a dressform idea is nice it kinda defeats the money saving purpose of making your own.

    I made mine with the packing tape and had no problems.

    Also just google make your own dressforms, there are TONS of sites with full information on the site, not paid for pamphlets.

    I’ve worked at a JoAnns, and have taught many people this technique ( don’t tell my boss though lol)

    I just really wouldn’t recommend duct tape, also cause of price! Staples has that packing tape for 8.49 for 125 yards… plenty!

  7. Thanks Violet, I have a dress form and need to adjust it.. your ideas will work perfectly for what I need to do!

  8. Excellent publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You should continue your writing. I’m sure, you have a great readers’ base already!|What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively helpful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & assist different customers like its aided me. Good job.

Leave a Reply

