Tablet Weaving.. or Card Weaving.. who knew?

My Cheerios Box Tablet Weaving Cards Yesterday I finished the Cheerios at breakfast. 

Card Weaving Cards  So I made Tablet Weaving Cards out of the box.   There is a really great tutorial on how to make these cards and use them in the Society of Primitive Technology  online pages with the tutorial page by Robin and Bart Blankenship.   I printed off the instruction pages, got out 2 colors of crochet cotton thread and decided to see what would happen.  WOW! 

Attaching it to something….    Now I had to find a place to hook one end… To be more comfortable, I could have used a doorknob, but at the time I didn’t think of it, so this is what I came up with.  This is one that you could do with the tails of your thread attached to a belt around your waist and the end on a tree if you wanted to do this outside. (In other words… no loom needed..) 

Card Woven Pattern    In all seriousness, I was amazed when I saw the pattern begin to emerge just by rotating the cards forwards or backwards and passing the weft thread back and forth.  This is of course a very untidy first try, but it will definitely not be the last. 

2 thoughts on “Tablet Weaving.. or Card Weaving.. who knew?

  1. Pingback: fabricGeek’s Card Weaving « Fabric Follies Two

Leave a Reply

