Wrap Your Gifts in Fabric…Forget Paper!

How to wrap a gift in fabric….  What a wonderful idea! I was surfing through my early morning blogs and found a post re: Vox on Sharon B’s blog… had to go look… began to surf to see if there were many fabric sites… found this!  It seems the Japanese government is encouraging it’s population to use fabric as gift wrap instead of throw away paper.  I can see this as doubly wonderful… for the person receiving the gift it would be a second gift if they sew or work with fabric at all… for the person giving the gift (if the recipient does not sew or need the fabric), just keep all that wonderful fabric instead of picking the paper wrapping up off the floor and throwing it in the dumpster…

Now… how could I do this without it costing a fortune?  First, it wouldn’t have to new fabric.  That shirt I have hanging in my closet (unmoved for perhaps the last 2 years except to make room) has a pretty design, but it too small.  For smaller gifts, how about an antique hankie found at the local charity thrift shop.  Does anyone have any other ideas?  I would love to hear them! 

7 thoughts on “Wrap Your Gifts in Fabric…Forget Paper!

  1. I’d say they’re doing something a little more than encouraging fabric be used as gift-wrap. Did you read the article on the main page – http://www.env.go.jp/en/focus/060403.html? The material (Furoshiki) can be used instead of plastic bags at the grocery store, as a shoulder bag or back pack, etc.

    As for ideas, all I can really think of is those left-overs after a project. Or the cheap scraps at the fabric store.

  2. I gave a picnic basket as a wedding gift and wrapped it in a tablecloth that can be stored in the basket and used at the picnic.

  3. hessian is a great option and can be funky too, you could stamp designs on with fabric paint and tie with string. Unbleached calico will also work in the same way.

  4. I have been doing this sort of thing for years. Mostly with baby showers. I either buy or make a blanket and put anything else inside it and tie it with a baby bib. Everything is usable.

  5. Hey there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a comment